Fem Fest:”Morro & Jasp” and “Mouthpiece”

I don’t see enough theatre, especially written and performed by women. I’d just like to say that so often, I see theatre and remember why I became an actor. I watch too much television sometimes, which isn’t totally bad, but I’ve neglected so much live theatre that I realize how much I hunger for it, as a performer and audience member. I’m not sure how much of theatre I’d watch if I weren’t an actor, but had I checked out Fem Fest for the first time, I’d feel compelled to start asap. 

I’ve even performed for Fem Fest in the past and loved it, discovering these artist I should pay attention to, making me aware of what’s out there locally and nationally. 

Monday was my first viewing of a Fem Fest show called Bake-Off where writers participated in a writing contest using suggested themes and subjects, or “ingredients” the winner would have their piece workshopped then presented at Fem Fest the next year. I wished I’d seen “The Seduction Theory too. 

Last night, I was delighted to see Morro and Jasp do Puberty. Heather Marie Annis and Amy Lee as the title characters play sisters dealing with menstruation and love. Colourful and energetic, I felt like it was a kids show, an adolescent show and an adult show rolled into one. I also love seeing women goofy, playing on gender roles and also interacting with the audience members. They got a standing ovation for it. 

Mouthpiece was more dramatic but it had some light moments. I was amazed at Amy Nostbakken and Norah Sadava’s connection on stage. Very well done! I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to wear a bathing suit on stage, but then again, I’ve done all sorts of things on stage. It was great movement a vocal performance too. 

Both shows have a few more performances during the festival. 

Also, if you’d like to check out the festival but have no cash, 8:15 every night has free play readings to definitely check out, SHORTS featuring local actors every time. 

Leave a Reply

